Faculty

Ferhaan Ahmad, MD, PhD

Ferhaan Ahmad, MD, PhD, FRCPC, FAHA

Principal Investigator
Director, Cardiovascular Genetics Center
Associate Professor of Internal Medicine - Cardiovascular Medicine
Associate Professor of Radiology

Affiliations
Abboud Cardiovascular Research Center
Iowa Initiative in Human Genetics
University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics

Education and Training Affiliations
Interdisciplinary Graduate Program in Genetics
Medical Scientist Training Program

Faculty Profile
Physician Profile

Email: ferhaan-ahmad@uiowa.edu


Staff

Lindsey Gifford - Ahmad Lab

Lindsey Gifford, BS

Research Associate / Laboratory Manager

Email: lindsey-gifford@uiowa.edu


Rebecca Gutmann

Rebecca Gutmann, RN, BSN, CCRC

Nurse Manager, Cardiovascular Genetics Program / Clinical Research Coordinator

Email: rebecca-gutmann@uiowa.edu


Janel Phetteplace UIowa

Janel Phetteplace, MS, CGC

Certified Genetic Counselor, Cardiovascular Genetics Program

Email: janel-phetteplace@uiowa.edu


 

Kathleen Detert, BA

Administrative Assistant

Email: kathleen-detert@uiowa.edu


Postdoctoral Fellows

Zhao Li, PhD

Zhao Li, PhD

Postdoctoral Fellow

Email: zhao-li-1@uiowa.edu


Andrei Schwartz

Andrei Schwartz, MD

Postdoctoral Fellow

Email: andrei-schwartz@uiowa.edu


Students

Chole Gumpert

Chloe Gumpert, BS

Medical Student

Email: chloe-gumpert@uiowa.edu


Hussein Herz UIowa

Hussein Herz

Undergraduate Student

Email: hussein-herz@uiowa.edu


 

Abigail Sincoular

Undergraduate Student

Email: abigail-sincoular@uiowa.edu